Confessions of a Heat Straightened Natural: NaturallyKela


What’s your name where are you from?

My name is Tekela Murray and I’m from Buena Vista, GA.

What is your regimen?
Hmm…my regimen! It varies, definitely depends on my mood and the weather. I don’t think I do as much as I probably should because I try to keep it simple. I wash and condition my hair using Design Essentials. When needed I perform a hot oil treatment or protein treatment. I section the hair, detangle, spray a thermal protectant, and then begin blow drying the hair. Depending on the weather, my activities, etc, I will do this at least once a month (twice a month if I need t wash my hair.)

How often do you straighten?
I straighten my hair at least once a month. I usually feather my hair then pin curl it. This allows me not to have to add additional heat the remainder of the time I am wearing it straight.

What products and tools do you use?
My hair absolutely loves Design Essentials! Have yet to use a product from Design Essentials line that I didn’t like: DE Therapeutics Rx Leave-in Hydrating Condtioner, Moisture Retention Condtioning Shampoo (MUST HAVE for naturals), HCO Leave-in Condtioner and Blow Drying Lotion, Organic Cleanse Deep Cleansing Shampoo, and Stimulations Super Moisturizing Conditioner. and Essentials Oil (This is mostly when I wear my hair straight). I also use Mizani, Redken, Olive Oil Sheen, and Carol’s Daughter Hair Milk. I try not to use too many products though, especially when I wear my hair straight! I love my FHI Heat Platform (4/10″) and my Biosilk Ergonomic Tourmaline Ceramic Flat Irons

Why have you chosen to wear your hair straight as opposed to kinky/curly?
Well I’ve always wanted curly hair since I was a small child but preferred my hair straight. For me, straight (at the beginning of my transition) was the easiest thing to do. I just thought my hair looked “better” that way. Once I became comfortable with being natural, I decided that altering my looks between straight and curly would allow me to showcase to the world (naturals and non-naturals included) that being natural doesn’t necessarily mean that you must only wear it curly or in an afro. For me its all about versatility.

Do you feel there is enough information for naturals who wear their hair straight?
I feel there’s an abundance of information for naturals who wear their hair straight. There are the professional stylist who specialize in natural hair to those of us on YouTube who share our natural hair jouneys. There are hair magazines, websites, products, and a variety of other sources that cater to us. Its just taking the time to educate ourselves on what works best for our individual hair types and not becoming overwhelmed when we don’t get the results someone else received.

What has helped you in your healthy hair journey? Websites, forums etc
When I began trasitioning, I was advised to checkout the hair tutorials and reviews on YouTube. I can recall going on there nearly everyday and viewing all the different tutorials.I joined Hair2Toe and received so much support from other naturalistas who had a passion for everything DIY. I also asked every cosmetologist I knew for advice. Slowly but surely I began to realize what worked for me was keeping it simple. I am often asked what products I use or advised on what products I should use. For me, a lot of the things I did when I was receiving relaxers still worked: hot oil treatments, protein treatments,minimal heat, and rod sets (protective styles).

Any advice for other heat straightened naturals?
Do what works for you. If you want to wear your hair straight, do so. Be mindful of the amount of heat you use on your hair. Use a thermal/heat protectant. Purchase ceramic tourmaline flat irons that have heat settings. Check outwww.tiffanyspate.com for healthy hair tips. I use Tiffany’s protein and moisture treatments.

Where can we find you?
I can be found on YouTube (username is MsKelabug). I can also be found on http://www.hair2toe.ning.com, Facebook, and Twitter (username NaturallyKela)

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a Heat Straightened Natural: NaturallyKela

Leave a Reply

